Archive for January 19th, 2008

Now THAT is Tennis, round 2!

January 19, 2008
federer.jpg

I can only imagine how close Federer fans were to strokes and dehydration from excessive sweating today. Not a lot of people were excpecting Tipsarevic to take any set off Federer. I enjoyed every rally, every point, every Tipsy winner, everything about it really. I am not a Federer hater, nor a fan, but there was something telling me that, “how great would it be to have Federer, Nadal, Roddick, Djokovic taken out in the third or 4th round and let give other players a break?” At 2-1 Tipsarevic I actually thought it would happen. Federer seems to handle pressure, but throughout the match as he saw that Tipsy would not give him an easy match, Federer was frustrated enough to make too many errors. That’s how Canas beat him, Volandri to some extent + Nadal several times.

But finally, some competition! Aussie Open 08 would have gone into the history books as one of the most boring and predictable without these thriller third round 5 setters. This actually makes it more probable that we will see some more. Hewitt and Baggy are hitting central court right now, and that too has 5 tight sets written all over it.

Anyway. So far Federer seems still to be heading for his 3rd cons. aussie title. I cannot see Berdych doing the same damage to Federer. Two resting days should be plenty for Rogerer. I think Andy fans are happy for the Roger-win as well. I could easily imagine Roddick killing himself if Federer was defeated today! Oh well, something tells me Nadal is inspired as this point. YES, YES, YES, NOW THAT GOOD OLD GRAND SLAM FUN STARTS!