Wawrinka’s early exit

Kiefer needed two sets to take Wawrinka down, who in my opinion played some of his absolute best tennis in Vienna with the exception of parts of the final. Maybe he wasn’t 100% on top of his game, I don’t know. But once again, my predicting skills are questionable as I REALLY thought he could do some damage in this tournament.

Don’t wanna state the obvious, but this sport is unpredictable! Just a tiny little bit. It’s almost incredible that Federer, Nadal and Djokovic are pretty safe bets these days. At least into SF and F. That’s just painting a very good picture on how dominant they are compared to the rest of the field.

Should also mention that my disapointment continues to increase for Safin as he is three games from defeat against Karlovic. Where did the racket breaking 2000 version of Safin go?

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Wawrinka’s early exit”

  1. Nate Says:

    amigo-

    I disagree on Wawrinka being a force in this tournament and that’s why I betted against him and Andreev to win a nice lil parlay. The rationalle for betting against Stan was due to that he had a tough week in Vienna and I was skeptical of him keeping his A game up just 2 days after playing a championship match in Austria. Personally, I’m going to pick & choose carefully in the Madrid tournament cuz I don’t see a lot of potential upsets.

  2. backhand Says:

    I meant that Wawrinka at his best is so good that he could potentially take out a top player. Just a little breakthrough like in Stuttgart and Vienna. I don’t think fatigue explains his loss. Kiefer is good and very tricky opponent.
    I don’t see many upsets either, but it’s the most upsetty time of the year.

Leave a Reply

